Water conservation

Game & Fish Building is Fair Ready – Austin Daily Herald

The Game & Fish Building is ready for the 2021 Mower County Fair.

Exhibitors include the Izaak Walton League – Austin Chapter 10, Mower County Soil and Water Conservation District, Jay C. Hormel Nature Center, Mower County Habitat and Pheasants Forever, and the National Wild Turkey Federation – Cedar River Longbeards Chapter.

On the first day of the fair, Tuesday, the Waterville Fisheries Division of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources will fill the fish displays with fish from the area.

The Jay C. Hormel Nature Center will be giving naturalist presentations Wednesday through Friday:

  • Wednesday: 4 pm to 7 pm – “All About Bees” Kelly Bahl will discuss how hives work and how the Nature Center maintains their hives.
  • Thursday 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. – Meredith Maloney will give a talk on the bison and what makes it special. She will have a buffalo hide to touch and other exhibits from the Nature Center’s Bison Exhibit.
  • Friday 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. – Sydney Weisinger will present the Blanding’s Turtle and Fox Snake from the Nature Center. For those who are not afraid of snakes, they will be able to touch or handle the fox snake.

Stop by the Mower County Soil and Water Conservation District booth on Wednesday to speak to one of the SWCD experts.

Then, on Thursday, the Mower County Habitat and Pheasants Forever chapter will equip the building. Find out more about preserving habitat and helping pheasants.

Gobble Up Like a Wild Turkey at Cedar River Longbeards – National Wild Turkey Federation Youth Wild Turkey Calling Competition at 6:30 p.m. Friday. Those interested are to meet on the east side of the Game & Fish building at 6 p.m. this Friday.

Enjoy a walk around the Game & Fish building to see the restored prairie. There is also a “Prairie Patio” on the south side of the building where you can sit, relax and enjoy the scenery.

The Game & Fish volunteer committee includes Arlen Schamber, Bruce Bates, Bruce Stundahl, Dave Cole, Justin Hanson, Kristi Morgan, Linden Anderson, Ron Christensen and Terry Dorsey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.