Water conservation

SWCD Supervisor Vote, US Citizenship, Academic Honors

Voting begins Monday for Richland SWCD board supervisor positions

The Ohio Soil and Water Conservation Commission will hold an election of two supervisors to the board of directors of the Richland District Soil and Water Conservation Commission.

The nominees are Lanny Hopkins, Jean McClintock and Mike Temple.

Supervisors are interested and conservation-minded local leaders who promote the conservation of the county’s natural resources through education, planning, and technical assistance which are key to the district’s success. Supervisors advocate for the district, participate in monthly council meetings, assist with programs and services, and attend region and state meetings. The elected overseers will begin their three-year term as public officials in January.

Voting in person and by mail begins Monday and will continue until November 2. Ballots can be obtained from the Richland SWCD office Monday through Friday during regular business hours at 1495 W. Longview Ave., Suite 205B, Mansfield, by calling 419- 747-8686 or by emailing [email protected] Absentee ballots must be received by the Richland SWCD office by 4:00 PM. November 2. People who own or occupy land in the Richland Soil and Water Conservation District and are 18 years of age or older can vote for the supervisor.

To learn more about the 2021 Richland SWCD Board Supervisor Candidates, please visit richlandswcd.net/get-involved/board-supervisors.

Mansfield woman obtains her US citizenship

Marina Olar received her U.S. citizenship on September 21 in the Northern District of Ohio from Federal Judge Thomas Parker. Marina and her husband, William, owner of Olar Family Chiropractic, got married in Chernivtsi, Ukraine, eight years ago.

Marina is the mother of three young children Lidica, 5, William, 4 and Estera, 1, and works at home as a seamstress.

Galion Primary School wins the Gold Award for the second year in a row

Galion Elementary School won the Gold Award from the Ohio Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS) network for the second year in a row!  A group of primary school students (pictured) enjoy a PBIS incentive with a day of play at Heise de Galion Park.

GALION – Galion Elementary School received the Gold Award for its success with Positive Behavior Support and Interventions (PBIS) for the second year in a row.

PBIS involves teaching students the expected behaviors in a consistent and positive manner, modeling and recognizing the behaviors, and helping all students meet expectations and be successful. PBIS has been shown to improve student achievement, student behavior, and school climate.

“Since 2015, our staff have worked tirelessly for this award and we achieved our first gold medal in 2020,” said elementary school principal Katy Erlsten. “Primary staff are to be commended for their work in maintaining Gold Award status for the second year in a row. “

Ohio PBIS Network first recognized schools that were model examples of strong PBIS programs in 2015. In 2021, Galion Elementary School applied and was just one of 34 schools in Ohio to win the Gold Award.

Galion Elementary School will be honored during the Ohio 2021 PBIS Virtual Showcase in conjunction with the Ohio Leadership Advisory Council (OLAC) on December 9.

Abraxas receives TAP grants from the Richland County Foundation

The Richland County Foundation has awarded Educational Programs Grants for the upcoming school year to teachers in Richland County for their creative or additional programs not covered by school funding. Teacher Assistance Program (TAP) grants are awarded to individual teachers or small teams of teachers. The maximum grant amount is $ 1,500.

This year, three Abraxas teachers received TAP scholarships:

  • $ 1,483.42 Response Supplies – Kimberly Hall
  • $ 1,440 ACT WorkKeys National Career Preparation Certificate Assessment Fund – Cassandra Lowery
  • $ 1,500 Academic and Career Development Resources – Dorothy Sharrock

In addition, Julie Pfeifer received a donation from the Foundation’s Gorman Fund in the amount of $ 1,485.11 to Save a Life Through CPR.

Local students graduate from Ohio University

ATHENS – The following local students are among the more than 1,900 who have graduated from Ohio University with a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctorate for the 2021 summer semester:

Mallory Lash, Crestline, Bachelor of Criminal Justice; Timothy Grady, Mansfield, Bachelor of Science in Economics; Megan Metcalf, Mansfield, Bachelor of Science in Applied Management; Alexis Throckmorton, Galion, Bachelor of Science in Health; Mason Zahn, Mansfield, Bachelor of Science in Health; Adam Bloir, Mansfield, Bachelor of Science in Journalism; Kristen Grassick, Mansfield, Bachelor of Nursing (Bachelor of Nursing); Morgan Kerr, Mansfield, Bachelor of Nursing (Bachelor of Nursing); Joshua Cunningham, Mansfield, Master of Arts (English); and Ashley Webb, Galion, Master of Arts (Law, Justice and Culture).

Robin Eyerly inducted into Phi Kappa Phi

BATON ROUGE, LA – Robin Eyerly of Ontario was recently a member of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the oldest and most selective of the multidisciplinary collegiate honor societies in the country. Eyerly was initiated at the University of Findlay.

Eyerly is one of more than 25,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni who are introduced to Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires a Chapter nomination and approval. Only the top 10% of seniors and 7.5% of juniors are eligible.

Prettyman chairs the Farm Bureau Policy Committee

Cy Prettyman is the first vice president of the Ohio Farm Bureau.

COLUMBUS – Cy Prettyman of New Bloomington is chair of the 2021 Ohio Agricultural Bureau Federation Policy Development Committee. The committee collects and organizes public policy recommendations from county agricultural offices and presents final policy suggestions to be voted on by Ohio Farm Bureau delegates at the state’s annual meeting in December.

The policy committee consists of 10 members of the Ohio Farm Bureau board of directors and 10 representatives from the county agricultural offices.

Prettyman is the first vice president of the Ohio Farm Bureau. On the state board of directors, he represents farmers in Crawford, Marion, Morrow and Richland counties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.