Soil and water

Cody Conservation District Honors Former Supervisor | People

In August, the Cody Conservation District hosted an open house to thank those who served as supervisors in previous councils. The current board and staff had the opportunity to meet former supervisors and learn about how they had worked for natural resource conservation in Park County. These supervisors represented over 50 years of combined experience. The previous six board members attending the open house included Forest Wichern (served 1975-1977), Les McNeil (served 1978-1988), Pete Jachowski (served 1993-2016), Tony Jolovich (served 1992-1996) ), Roy Holm (served 2003-2014) and Kurt Mellinger (served 2003-2008).

The event included a presentation by CCD staff and a discussion of CCD’s past conservation efforts, including invasive species management and the successful “small area workshops”.

The Cody Conservation District was established on May 20, 1942. Conservation Districts are managed by five elected members of the Board of Directors who serve without remuneration. Since CCD’s inception, a total of 67 supervisors have worked in soil and water conservation in this 2.5 million acre district. The district is an illegal local subdivision of the Wyoming State Department of Agriculture. Conservation Districts are required by “Conservation District Law” to be present in all counties in the United States. Districts are responsible for implementing natural resource programs and projects at the local level. Some of CCD’s current programs and projects involve home improvement projects, the sale of conservation-grade seedlings, monitoring for bacteria, and organizing public awareness opportunities.

If you would like to learn more about CCD and our conservation efforts, please contact us at (307) 578-8335 or [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.