Water conservation

Nominations begin Monday for the 2022 elections; See which races will be on your ballot


WILMINGTON, NC (WECT) – Candidates who want to run for most local, state, federal or judicial office in 2022 can file for office from Monday December 6 to Friday December 17 at noon.

At the county level, races that include the county commissioner, school board, sheriff and court clerk will be on the ballots in 2022. Voters will also decide on biennial races for seats in the House of Representatives and the House of Representatives. North Carolina Senate and United States House of Representatives. . They will also vote to fill the seat of the US Senate held since 2004 by Richard Burr, who is not running for a fourth term.

There will also be court races decided in 2022, including for the district attorney and district court judge, as well as seats on the North Carolina Court of Appeals and Supreme Court.

The North Carolina state primary is scheduled for March 8, 2022. There could also be a second primary if no candidate in a race achieves the percentage of votes required to secure the nomination. According to the North Carolina State Council of Elections, the second primary will take place on April 26 or May 17, depending on whether or not a federal office is involved.

Although the nomination period runs from Monday December 6 to Friday December 17 at noon, the deadline to register to vote in the primary elections is February 11, 2022. One-stop early voting will begin on February 17 and will run until March. 5.

The primary elections from March 8 to Columbus County will also include municipal races in the city of Whiteville, which were among 30 across North Carolina pushed back from November 2021 to give local governments more time to review and revise districts based on incoming 2020 census data. tardily. The post of Mayor of Whiteville, held by Terry Mann, will be up for election, along with the District 1 City Council seats held by Tim Blackmon and Helen Holden, and the District 2 City Council seat held by Tim Collier.

The nomination period for Whiteville and Columbus County school board seats is different from other municipal and rescheduled elections. Since there are no primary elections scheduled for these races, the filing period will be July 1–15. Whiteville voters will decide on three school board seats, Coleman Barbour’s At-Large seat, Anna Hall Richardson’s District 1 seat, and District 2 seat David Flowers now holds on the board. Three seats on the county education council will also be decided. This is the District 2 seat held by Ronnie Strickland, District 3 held by Monte Herring and the District 4 seat won in 2018 by Worley Edwards.

The Columbus County commissioner seats in Districts 1, 6 and 7, held by Jerome McMillian, Ricky Bullard and Charles McDowell, will be ahead of voters in 2022. Columbus County voters will also decide who is the clerk and sheriff.

In Bladen County, the seats on the Board of Directors currently occupied by Arthur Bullock (District 1), Charles Ray Peterson (District 2) and Cameron McGill (District 3) will be up for election. Board of Education seats held by Gary Rhoda (District 1), Roger Carroll (District 2), Alan West (District 3), Dennis Edwards (county-wide), Vinston Rozier (county-wide) ) and Cory Singletary (county-wide) will also be decided. Elections will also be held for the sheriff, the court clerk and the registry of deeds.

Brunswick County The commissioner seats in Districts 1 and 2, held by Randy Thompson and Marty Cooke, are up for election in 2022. Two school board seats will also be ahead of the voters, from Districts 3 and 5, now held by Robin Moffitt and Gerald Courbé on. Voters will also choose the winners for the clerk of the court and the sheriff.

In New County of Hanover, voters will occupy two seats on the Council of Commissioners, which are currently held by Julia Olson Boseman and Rob Zapple. Zapple has already announced plans to run again. Four seats on the county school board will also be allocated, owned by Stefanie Adams, Nelson Beaulieu, Judy Justice and Pete Wildeboer. The clerk of the court and the sheriff will also be elected.

Voters in Pender County will decide on three seats on the Council of Commissioners and the Board of Education. The Commissioner’s seats in Districts 1, 2 and 3, held by David Williams, David Piepmeyer and George Brown will be up for election. The current terms of school board members from Districts 1, 2 and 4, Cindy Faulk Fontana, Berth Burns and Ken Smith, will also be on the ballot. Voters will also decide the clerk of the Superior Court and sheriff races.

District attorneys’ offices in front of voters include the 15th District Attorneys, which covers Brunswick, Bladen and Columbus counties and now owned by Jon David, and the 6th District covering New Hanover and Pender counties, held by Ben David .

There will also be several judicial seats on the ballot in the 5th Judicial District (which includes New Hanover and Pender counties) and 13th Judicial District (Bladen, Brunswick and Columbus counties). In District 5, the District Court seats currently occupied by Judge Melinda Crouch, Judge James Faison, Judge Chad Hogston and Judge Lindsey McKee will be contested, along with the District 13 General Seats now occupied by Judge. Quintin McGee and Judge Will Callihan. Four seats on the North Carolina Court of Appeals will be ahead of the voters, as will two seats on the North Carolina Supreme Court.

Headquarters in North Carolina House of Representatives and Senate will be in front of voters in 2022, with United States House seats and the seat of the United States Senate being vacated by Richard Burr. Raleigh lawmakers have passed a law redrawing electoral districts based on 2020 census data. But lawsuits against the cards could delay their entry into force for the 2022 electoral cycle.

The voters in each county will also decide on the supervisors of the local soil and water conservation districts. According to the North Carolina State Board of Elections, the filing period for these candidates is June 13, 2022 to July 1, 2022.

In Bladen County, two seats for the District Supervisor of Soil and Water Conservation now held by Earl Storms and Charles Gillespie will be on the ballot. In Brunswick County, voters will elect the Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor seats currently held by Elliot Swain and Jody Clemmons. The Columbus County supervisor seats now held by Ronnie Strickland and Rashad Roberts are up for election, along with the New Hanover County seats now held by Evan Folds and Frank Christopher Meares. Voters in Pender County will elect supervisors to fill the seats currently held by Douglas Rivenbark and Bill Murrell.

Here are some other important dates to remember regarding the March 8 primary elections (from www.ncsbe.gov):

  • January 17, 2022: County electoral councils begin sending mail ballots for the 2022 state primary to eligible voters who have submitted a mail ballot request form.
  • February 11, 2022: Civilian voter registration deadline for the 2022 statewide primary.
  • February 17, 2022: The one-stop-shop, in-person early voting period begins for the 2022 statewide primaries.
  • March 1, 2022: Deadline for civilians to submit a postal vote request form for the 2022 statewide primary.
  • March 5, 2022: One-stop in-person early voting period ends for the 2022 statewide primaries.
  • March 8, 2022: Election day for the 2022 statewide primary votes and civil absences return deadline.

Copyright 2021 WECT. All rights reserved.