World association

Irish Rugby | World Rugby dream team pays tribute to Furlong

Dream Team of the Year World Rugby Men 15s, in association with Capgemini

Players from seven nations – Australia, England, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland and South Africa – were selected to the Dream Team by the World Rugby Awards jury with the four nominees for 15-year-old male player of the year included. The selected players total 850 selections for their country with the the world champion Springboks with the most representatives with five, followed by New Zealand with three.

1. Wyn Jones (Wales)
2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)
4. Maro Itoje (England)
5. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa)
6. Siya Kolisi (South Africa)
7. Michael Hooper (Australia)
8. Ardie Savea (New Zealand)
9. Antoine Dupont (France)
10. Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
11. Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa)
12. Samu Kerevi (Australia)
13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa)
14. Will Jordan (New Zealand)
15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)

World Rugby Women’s 15s Dream Team of the Year in association with Capgemini

Six nations are represented in the Dream Team with Canada, Italy, New Zealand and Wales each providing a player in a selection dominated by England and France, the two most successful teams in women’s rugby. in 2021. With a total of 539 caps across the Dream The France team provides six players, one more than England, with all four nominated for female player of the year at 15.

1. Annaëlle Deshayes (France)
2. Agathe Sochat (France)
3. Sarah Berne (England)
4. Safi N’Diaye (France)
5. Abbie Ward (England)
6. Zoe Aldcroft (England)
7. Karen Paquin (Canada)
8. Poppy Cleall (England)
9. Laure Sansus (France)
10. Caroline Drouin (France)
11. Abby Dow (England)
12. Béatrice Rigoni (Italy)
13. Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)
14. Caroline Boujard (France)
15. Jasmine Joyce (Wales)

Revolutionary World Rugby 2021 Player of the Year in association with Tudor: Will Jordan (New Zealand)

One of the many young wingers to announce their arrival on the world stage in the past 12 months, Will Jordan has drawn attention not only for his trying exploits for the All Blacks, but also for his work outside of the ball, unlocking the team’s defenses. – mates regularly.

A record 15 tries in 11 tests in 2021, including five against Tonga and a hat-trick against the United States, saw him become the second fastest All Black to reach 15 tries.

Jordan has failed to score in two games and given his phenomenal strike rate, had he been available for the 15 tests the All Blacks played in 2021, it is likely he would have gotten both. tries he needed to set a new All Blacks record. He is the third All Black to win this award after Nehe Milner-Skudder (2015) and Rieko Ioane (2017).

Nominees: Andrew Kellaway (Australia), Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales), Marcus Smith (England)

World Rugby Coach of the Year 2021: Simon Middleton (England Women)

Simon Middleton is making history as the first coach of a women’s team to win the prestigious award, having guided the Red Roses through a second consecutive calendar year without defeat and 18 straight wins, including back-to-back records against the Champions. world. Zealand in November.

Middleton, in her seventh year as England head coach, saw her side score 57 tries and concede just 10 in 2021 as they added another Six Nations women’s title to their record.

Nominees: Allan Bunting / Cory Sweeney (New Zealand Women’s Sevens), Ian Foster (New Zealand men), Dave Rennie (Australia men)

Men’s trial of the year for international rugby players: Damian Penaud (France, v Scotland on March 26)

Moving from 22 to 22, France shaped a score for the ages against Scotland in their delayed Six Nations games at Stade de France.

Taking a quick slap on a marked kick, back Brice Dulin embarked on an electrifying race before finding Romain Ntamack and Arthur Vincent as reinforcements.

Antoine Dupont quickly transferred the ball away from the blackout and Virimi Vakatawa drew up the defense before unloading on Damian Penaud whose football skills – including a chip, box and dribble – took him around the corner for a magnificent essay.

Nominees: Lukhanyo Am (South Africa A, against British and Irish Lions on July 14), Pierre-Louis Barassi (France, against Australia on July 17), Luke Jacobson (New Zealand, against Argentina on September 12) )

Women’s try of the year for international rugby players: Emilie Boulard (France, against Wales on April 3)

Trailing 43-0 with less than three minutes to go, Wales managed to clear their lines, but only at the halfway point where treble-scorer Caroline Boujard lined up the shot and immediately found Jessy Trémouliere .

France handed the ball to Emilie Boulard on the left wing, the rookie full-back finding Maëlle Filopon on a loop to play in the Welsh 22.

The center passed inside Camille Imart, who shot the defense before returning to Boulard to pass in the corner.

Nominees: Sara Barattin (Italy, against Scotland on September 13), Abby Dow (England, against France on April 30), Romane Ménager (France, against Ireland on April 17)

Rugby World Referee Award: Andrew Cole (Australia)

Andrew Cole refereed 44 Super Rugby and 31 Test matches from 1997 to 2005. The Australian’s first test was Samoa v Tonga in 1997, his last test being Ireland v Romania eight years later. He also refereed the second test between New Zealand and the British and Irish Lions in 2005. Selected as a referee for the 1999 and 2003 Rugby World Cup, he served as 2012 referee coach at RWC 2015. Cole was Rugby Australia’s head referee coach. from 2010 to 17 and is a life member of the Queensland Rugby Referees Association.

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service: Jacques Laurans (France)

A well-known figure in world rugby, Jacques Laurans enjoyed a brilliant playing career, winning the junior and senior titles in France in 1958 and 1965 respectively, before moving to administration and occupying positions at the French Rugby Federation. (FFR), World Rugby and the Six Nations. He spent 25 years with the FFR in various capacities and was a member of the World Rugby Council for France from 1997 to 2016, as well as a Director of the Rugby World Cup from 2000 to 2008. He is currently President of the Albert Ferrasse Federation which helps injured rugby players in France.

Previous story
Munster registers 22 additional players for the Champions Cup