Soil and water

The five Otter Tail County commissioners are running for re-election; state and county filing closes May 31 – Perham Focus

PERHAM — All five county commissioner districts in Otter Tail County will be on the ballot in November, and the five incumbent commissioners have sought re-election to defend their seats from May 19, according to the Secretary of State’s website of Minnesota.

With more than 5% change to each of the Otter Tail County Commissioners’ District Maps, adapted in April 2020, the current Commissioners were forced to run for re-election in their newly formed districts.

Election Day will be Nov. 8, a county news release said. Addition, filing for county commissioner, county sheriff, county attorney, and soil and water conservation districts began on May 17 and will end on Tuesday, May 31 at 5 p.m.

Otter Tail County Commissioners’ Districts were adapted on April 26, 2022.

Contributed / Otter Tail County

Otter Tail County candidates who filed for the November election, as of May 19:

  • county commissionerDistrict 1: Dan Bucholz (incumbent); District 2: Wayne Donald Johnson (incumbent); District 3: Kurt A. Mortenson (incumbent); District 4: Betty Murphy (incumbent); District 5: Lee Rogness (holder)
  • county attorney – Michelle Marie Eldien (holder)
  • Soil and Water Supervisor – District 2 (East): Wayne Enger (incumbent); District 2 (west): Richard E. Drevlow (holder)

Candidates who are running to run for the state legislature in the November elections, beginning May 19:

The nomination period for municipal and school elections opens on August 2 and ends on August 16.
For more information on Minnesota nominee filings, see the Minnesota Secretary of State website. For more information on the Otter Tail County election, visit the county’s 2022 election website.