Soil and water

Last-minute dash to enter the race for mayor; unopposed candidates in county races | News, Sports, Jobs

NEW ULM – Three new candidates submitted their candidacies for mayor on the last day of filing, widening the field to five candidates.

The final three candidates to file are Kathleen Backer, Mark Rutz and Ronald Wendinger. Lonnie Luepke and Jeff Kiecker previously filed for mayor.

With five different names appearing on the ballot, a primary will be held to narrow the list down to two. Minnesota’s primary is Tuesday, August 9. The election for mayor of New Ulm will be held on the primary. The two candidates with the most votes will advance to the November general election.

The council seats for the 2nd and 4th wards are also up for election this year, but only the 4th ward is contested, with incumbent Larry Mack challenged by Michelle Markgraf. Mack served two terms as a councilor and was first elected in 2014. Markgraf ran for the open mayoral position last year and was a runner-up.

In the 2nd Ward race, incumbent Eric Warmka is the only candidate. Warmka was nominated to complete the term of former Councilor Lisa Fischer in November 2020. He is running unopposed for a full term.

The filing period for Brown County offices also closed on Tuesday. According to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website, none of the county elections will be contested.

In Brown County, there are nine county offices up for election. This includes County Commissioner’s Districts 2, 4 and 5.

Other county positions on the ballot include County Attorney, County Recorder, Sheriff, and Brown County Soil and Water Conservancy District Supervisor in Districts 2, 3, and 5 .

Each of the nine offices had a single person file. Anton Berg for District 2 Commissioner; Brian H. Braun for District 4 Commissioner; Jeff Veerkamp for District 5 Commissioner; Mary Schreiner for recorder; Jason S. Seidl for Sheriff; Chuck Hanson for lawyer; Brad Augustin for District 2 Soil and Water Supervisor; William J. Eckstein for District 3 Soil and Water Supervisor and Rae L. Runck for District 5 Soil and Water Supervisor.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox