Soil and water

End of McDowell’s filing period for soil and water conservation | Local News

According to staff reports

As of noon Friday, the filing period ended for the McDowell County Soil and Water Conservation Board and two candidates will appear on the November ballot.

This year, McDowell voters will be asked to make their choices for the County Commission, Board of Education, Sheriff’s Office, State Assembly and a variety of other offices.

Voters will also be asked to make their choice for the local Soil and Water Conservation Supervisory Board. The application period for the Soil and Water Supervisor began at noon on Monday June 13 and lasted until Friday July 1 at noon.

Both seats on that board are up for election this year and two candidates have filed for those seats, according to the McDowell Board of Elections.

Daniel Rowe, 62, of 2092 S. Creek Road, Nebo, stands as a challenger for the board. He is retired from working in county government.

Neil Brackett, 57, of 704 Deacon Drive, Marion, is an incumbent seeking another term. He was first elected in 2006. He retired after working for McDowell County Public Schools.

People also read…

The McDowell County Soil and Water Conservation District is a local subdivision of the state government responsible for the conservation of soil, water, and associated natural resources in the district. The district’s goal is to “continue to conserve the county’s natural resources.”

The McDowell County Soil and Water Conservation District partners with the USDA’s Natural Resources Conservation Service to provide the county with the means necessary to conserve our natural resources. The office provides programs, technical services, and educational activities that promote the voluntary management and conservation of natural resources on private lands in North Carolina through a non-regulatory, incentive-based approach. The McDowell SWCD is governed by a Supervisory Board. Two are appointed by the state Soil and Water Commission while three are elected by local voters. Both types of supervisors have the same powers and responsibilities. They are unpaid volunteers and serve a four-year term.