Water conservation

Van Wert Soil and Water Conservation District, Farm Bureau Ag Banquet co-host

VAN WERT – The Van Wert SWCD held its 73rd annual meeting by co-hosting with the Van Wert Farm Bureau the Ag Banquet on August 2 at Life House Church, Van Wert.

An SWCD election was held for two supervisory positions on the five-member SWCD Supervisory Board. Craig Pohlman and Ryan Mohr were elected for three-year terms beginning January 1, 2023.

Dinner was provided by More To Love Catering.

Jayden Black was the recipient of the SWCD scholarship. Adam Brothers has been recognized by the SWCD and received the Conservation Farmer Award. This award is given to individuals honoring their conservation achievements.

Farm Bureau honored their fellow.

Farm Bureau presented the Membership Ag Awards. The Van Wert Ag Hall of Fame Award was presented to George Ropp for his many agricultural accomplishments.

The Van Wert County Foundation spoke about how it helps Van Wert County through scholarship and grant programs. Sarah Noggle was the guest speaker and addressed the mental health issues that many farmers face. Ag Credit provided centerpieces of flower arrangements which were given away as door prizes.

Sponsors for the evening were the Van Wert County Foundation, the Farm Bureau and the Van Wert Soil and Water Conservation District.